PRESS RELEASE

COMMISSIONERS

Chris Brown, Chairman

Northern District

De'Keither A. Stamps

Central District

Wayne Carr

Southern District



Contact: Rachael Ring Director of Public Affairs Central District (601) 540-6611 rachael.ring@psc.ms.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

NEW AREA CODE 471 ANNOUNCED FOR NORTHERN/CENTRAL MISSISSIPPI

JACKSON, MS (June 26, 2024)— The Mississippi Public Service Commission, on June 13, 2024, approved a new area code to be assigned to the same area occupied by the 662 code. The new area code is 471.

According to the North American Numbering Plan Administrator's (NANPA) Numbering Resources Utilization Forecast, numbering resources for the 662 area code are anticipated to be exhausted by the third quarter of 2026.

Existing 662 customers will keep their current telephone numbers, but new customers, or requests for additional lines, may be assigned the new 471 area code once it's activated. Customers will continue to use 10-digit dialing — the area code plus the seven-digit phone number — to make local calls.

The 471 area code will serve all of the Public Service Commission Northern District counties: Alcorn, Attala, Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Coahoma, Desoto, Grenada, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Marshall, Montgomery, Monroe, Oktibbeha, Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Webster, Winston and Yalobusha counties.

In addition, the 471 area code will serve a large area of the Public Service Commission Central District including Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, parts of Kemper, Noxubee, Sharkey, Sunflower, Washington and Yazoo counties.

At this time, no changes need to be made by customers. Further updates will be announced as the implementation process begins in 2025.

###

About the Mississippi Public Service Commission:

The Mississippi Public Service Commission is a regulatory agency responsible for overseeing the utility services provided to the residents of Mississippi. The Commission is dedicated to ensuring safe, reliable and affordable utility services for all Mississippians.