## MISSISSIPPI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

CHRIS BROWN, CHAIRMAN
DE'KEITHER STAMPS, COMMISSIONER
WAYNE CARR, COMMISSIONER
KATHERINE COLLIER, EXECUTIVE SECRETARY



**EXECUTIVE SUMMARY** 

**ANNUAL REPORT** 

**ENDING JUNE 30, 2024** 

## **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

Governor Robert Lowery signed legislation, on March 11, 1884, creating the Mississippi Railroad Commission. The Governor appointed the first Commissioners to serve for two years, and then, until 1892, the Legislature elected the Commissioners to serve two-year terms. From 1886 until 1938, the Commission maintained jurisdiction over various industries including railroads, express, telephone, telegraph, and limited motor carrier regulation.

During the 1938 Session of the Legislature, the Motor Carrier Regulatory Act was enacted, changing the name of the Railroad Commission to the Mississippi Public Service Commission and placed regulation and supervision of motor carriers under its jurisdiction. Electric, gas and water utilities were placed under the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission with the passage of the Utility Act of 1956. In 1968, the 1956 Utility Act was amended to include the regulation of sewage disposal systems by the Commission.

Adopted during the 2004 Regular Legislative session, HB 1279 mandated the transfer of all Public Service Commission employees, equipment, inventory and resources, employed and used to enforce the Motor Carrier Regulatory Law of 1938, to the Mississippi Department of Transportation effective July 1, 2004.

At this time, certain telecommunications, electric, gas, water and sewer utilities, are under the supervision and regulation of this Commission. It is the Commission's responsibility to ensure that rates and charges for service are just and reasonable, that the approved rate schedules are adhered to, that the service rendered is reasonably adequate, and that the facilities constructed or acquired are required for the convenience and necessity of the public.

The Commission is composed of three elected Commissioners, one from each of the Supreme Court Districts. The Commissioners are elected in the general election at the same time all other State and County officials are elected. Their term of office is for four years beginning on January 1, following election.

The Gas Pipeline Safety Division of the Commission performs safety inspections including operation, maintenance, design, construction, installation, testing, and accident investigations. In FY24, this department performed 803 inspections identifying 158 violations.

It is the responsibility of the Commission to monitor the quality and adequacy of service provided by the jurisdictional utilities including the applications of approved rates and charges. During fiscal year 2024, the Commission received 4,553 consumer complaints against utility companies, which pertained to utility rate billing and service complaints. Most of these inquiries, both logged and not logged, have been settled informally to the satisfaction of the complainant. Further, the Commission received one (1) formal complaint against regulated utilities.

The following is a tabulation of the type of utility complaints and inquiries received:

Electric	2717
Natural Gas	172
Water	610
Sewer	174
Telecom	738
Misc	142
TOTAL	4,553

During FY24, the Commission received and docketed 142 cases.

The following is a list totaling the actions taken by the Commission during the 2024 fiscal year:

DIVISION	TOTAL ORDERS
ELECTRIC	43
GAS	14
SEWER	19
TELECOM	42
WATER	31
TOTAL	149

Copies of the Commission's Annual Report, for the year ending June 30, 2024, are available, upon request, by contacting the Executive Secretary of the Commission, P.O. Box 1174, Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1174; Telephone (601) 961-5400.